Tesla service has always had one simple answer to the parts question: the part comes from Tesla. Strings buried in the latest phone app suggest that answer is about to acquire an asterisk.
Not a Tesla App decompiled Tesla's app update 4.60.5, released last week, and found identifiers for a consent flow that does not exist in the shipping app yet — APP_SERVICE_NON_ORIGINAL_PART_ALERT_CONFIRM and sv_tracker_non_tesla_original_part_alert_confirm, alongside a boolean flag asking whether the customer should be made to confirm and sign for non-original parts.
What the screen would say
One string is customer-facing text rather than a code identifier, and it is unusually blunt:
"The 'non-Tesla original parts' listed in the final invoice are not covered by the Tesla quality assurance specified on the Tesla website."
Read literally, that is a disclaimer attached to a line item on an invoice, shown to the customer for acknowledgement before the work goes ahead. That flag is the telling one: it asks whether a signature is required, which points at an approval gate rather than a notification. The repair does not proceed until you sign off on it.
What is not in the strings
Almost everything that determines whether this matters:
| Question | Answer in the app strings |
|---|---|
| Which parts qualify | Not specified |
| Which markets | Not specified |
| When it starts | Not specified |
| What "quality assurance" is forfeited | Points to Tesla's website terms |
| Tesla's official position | None given |
Not a Tesla App's own reading is that the likely candidates are consumables — filters, 12V batteries, wear items — rather than drive units, packs or structural components. That is a reasonable inference from how every other manufacturer handles aftermarket sourcing, but it is an inference. Nothing in the code says so.
Why owners should care about the wording, not the parts
Aftermarket parts in a franchised service network are unremarkable. Almost every carmaker does it, and for a cabin filter nobody would blink.
What is different here is the warranty language. Tesla's quality assurance on service work is a specific commitment, and a screen whose entire job is to record that you accepted a part falling outside it is doing warranty work, not inventory work. The interesting question is not whether Tesla fits a third-party filter; it is what happens to the coverage on the repair around it.
There is a supply-side reading too. Tesla has spent years being criticised for parts availability and repair waits — a Dutch insurer recently refused to cover nine brands on repairability grounds, and European owners know the queue. Opening the parts catalogue to non-Tesla sources is one of the few levers that shortens it. If that is the motive, this is good news wearing a disclaimer.
Treat this as unconfirmed
App strings are a reliable signal of intent and a poor signal of timing. Features have appeared in Tesla's app code and shipped weeks later; others have sat there for a year, or been pulled. Tesla has said nothing about this one — not when it activates, not which parts qualify, not which markets see it first, and not what criteria decide.
The one thing worth watching is European service invoices. If the line item "non-Tesla original parts" starts appearing on them, the policy arrived without an announcement, which is how most of these do.