Sunwoda launched what it calls a 15C smart flash charging battery system at a battery industry conference in Zaozhuang, Shandong on 17 September 2026, claiming 10 to 97 percent in nine minutes at room temperature. The name is worth noticing before the number: in April 2026 Tesla added Sunwoda as its fifth global battery cell supplier, after CATL, Panasonic, LG Energy Solution and BYD.

The nine minutes are five months old

Sunwoda showed a 15C LFP pack in April — 264 prismatic cells, 98.8 kWh, 1,800 amperes at peak, 5 to 95 percent in nine minutes. September's announcement is not that claim arriving; it is that claim repackaged, with the numbers restated against a different window and some new figures attached.

April 2026 17 September 2026
Form Battery pack, 264 prismatic LFP cells Full system: cells, energy domain controller, cloud platform
Capacity 98.8 kWh Not stated; range "over 700 km"
Nine-minute claim 5-95% 10-97%
Five-minute claim 5-75% (5 min 30 s) 10-70%
Cold weather Not stated 10-97% in 15 minutes at -20°C
Warranty Not stated 10 years or 300,000 km, no cap on ultrafast sessions, non-commercial use
Charging network Not stated 10,000 megawatt stations by end-2027

The genuinely new items are the last two rows. A warranty that does not penalise repeated ultrafast charging is a direct answer to the assumption that fast charging wears a pack out, and it is the kind of commitment that costs a manufacturer money if it is wrong. The network pledge is the more interesting one, and the reason is arithmetic: a 15C pack is worth nothing plugged into a 150 kW post. Sunwoda is promising to build the other half itself.

15C is a peak, not an average

The C-rate in the product name is the ceiling, not the rate sustained across the session. Electrive's reading of the April pack put the average at about 6.7C for a 90 percent charge in nine minutes — still extraordinary, and less than half what the headline implies. Sunwoda has not named a vehicle that will carry the system, has not said when it enters production, and has not published an independent validation. It supplies Geely, Dongfeng and GAC today.

The accompanying claims deserve the same caution: an AI cloud platform said to warn of more than 20 fault types two to ten days ahead, at 99.77 percent accuracy, is a number no outside party has checked.

What a Tesla owner gets from this today: nothing

That is the honest answer, and it is worth stating plainly because the supplier relationship invites the opposite conclusion. The cells Tesla buys from Sunwoda are third-generation LFP rated at 3C — a fifth of the headline rate. They are built at Yiwu, Zhejiang, shipped to Giga Shanghai, and fitted to cars built there for export; Tesla takes cells only and assembles the modules and packs itself. Chinese domestic models are expected to follow in 2027 after an observation period.

What it does say is where one of Tesla's own suppliers thinks the floor is moving. Batteries are more than 30 percent of a car's cost, and Tesla added Sunwoda while automotive gross margin sat near 15 percent, down from 27 percent in 2021. A supplier chasing 15C while shipping 3C is telling you what it expects to sell next, in a market where BYD is already installing its own flash chargers by the thousand.

For a European buyer none of this is orderable, and the megawatt stations are a Chinese domestic build-out. Watch the charger count rather than the C-rate: the first is verifiable, the second is a press release.